Kinky Princess in the Spotlight!!

sotlight

mons hair pics

This month we have a Kinky Princess in the Spotlight!!

WELCOME!

Please tell us your name and age and where you are from?

Monique, I’m 16  and live in South East London with my mum and younger brother.

 Have you always been natural, If not, how long have you been natural?

Yes, I have always been natural however only in the pass 5 years have I been trying to take extra care with my hair by using all natural products such as Shea Decadence, Kinks Range for instance.  

 Do you have natural friends?

Yes, I would say 70% of my friends have natural hair

What do they think of your hair?

Most of my friends compliment my hair especially the ones who aren’t natural who find it hard to maintain

their hair in its natural state. A lot of my friends and others are surprised by my hair texture as my

hair is quite curly and I am fully black.

mons pics

Have you experienced any negative comments?

My mum often criticizes my hair when I wear it out as my curls always seem to lose its definition throughout the day. In addition I once straightened my hair for Christmas (as my mum would only ever allow me to do so on “special occasions”) in the salon – which must I say I loved – nevertheless when I washed it, it took nearly a year for my curls to reach the same definition prior to having it done. The intense heat had damaged my hair. My mum who was never keen on having heat put on my hair in the first place almost “forbid” me to do it again, and would not stop moaning and groaning until my hair was to “her standards”.

Are you ever tempted to relax/texturise your hair?

Before I started using the Kinks Range I was tempted to relax my hair for the convenience as it would be so much easier to manage. As I wear my hair curly most of the time having straight hair was quite appealing. My mum hardly lets me put heat on my hair let alone put chemicals in it, so in theory it was never an option. Once I started to use the Kinks Range, I started to enjoy having curly hair as my hair no longer seemed to be a struggle. In hindsight I am so happy that I never relaxed or texturised it as I wouldn’t have the hair I enjoy having now.

What’s the hardest thing about being natural?

The hardest thing about being natural is the amount of time it takes to care for natural hair. It is very time consuming! But it reaps its benefits in the long run. When my friends see all the things I do to my hair and how long it takes it quite often deters them from wanting to follow however once they see the results they find it to be a good thing.

What’s the best thing about being natural?

When I was around 13 and 14 I was very lazy when it came to doing “twist outs” before I went to bed. I would just wake up in the morning and put cream on my hair and brush it back. I was hardly taking “care” of it! I wouldn’t really run my fingers through it, nor did the cream ever reach all of my hair (just the outside). I would just scrap it into a ponytail. At first it seemed a good idea, it meant all that time I used to waste twisting my hair I could spend it in bed however on wash day it took its toll and my hair was a nightmare to comb. So much hair came out and I realised why my mother always told me to twist it at night. Since then I always make sure I put the essential products on my hair, run my fingers through it and twist it before bed, and now I save even more time when I am washing my hair which I can now spend in bed :0)

Have you had any bad hair experiences?

Definitely that one occasion when I went to the salon to get my hair straightened and I suffered heat damage. My ends were limp and straggly for a long time afterwards and it’s taken a long time to get my curls back!! They used a hot comb so they couldn’t regulate the heat. Lesson learned!!

 What are your hair goals?

My long term goal in regards to my hair would be to be able to retain its length, hopefully try and grow it even longer and also build its thickness.  In the short term I would love to be able to wear my hair out without it frizzing up. In this case its trial and error and seeing what works with my hair as everybody’s hair is different.

How do you style your hair from day to day?

From day to day I usually wear my hair in a high bun but recently I have been trying to wear my hair down as much as possible to almost train my hair as such to see what works for my hair in order to keep it the way I want it throughout the day.

mons hair pic

Which products do you use on a daily basis?

Before I go to bed I section my hair into around 10-15 sections. Section by section I spritz my hair with the the kinks hair latte and run my fingers through it. Next I add a squirt of the Kinks Cocoa Frappuccino leave in Conditioner and then the Kinky Girls Hair Pudding. To seal my hair I usually add natural Shea butter or the Kinks Jamaican Black Castor & Niloltica Shea Butter balm. I twist my hair and repeat with each section. I think this works well for me as it saves me so much time in the morning as all I have to do is take out the twists and style as desired. One major way in which I care for my hair is by not putting heat on it or putting a limited amount on my hair.

Do you think you will stay natural?

Most defiantly! Natural is the way forward for me. I love the results I get from having natural hair. Not only that but it gives me discipline and self-determination. Having natural hair also inspired me to care for my nails and body.

Do you have any natural haired inspirations?

Sharron (owner of Shea Decadence/Kinks) inspired me to want to care for my hair a lot more as her hair was evidence that Shea Decadence products worked and we have similar textures.

I’m happy too have been instrumental in your healthy hair journey. What would be your advice to any other young ladies either already wearing their hair natural or thinking about it?

One piece of advice that I would give from what I have learnt would be to be determined and not give up. I used to assume that by using certain products my hair would grow to my hips and be super curly however I learnt that it takes time, love and dedication to get there. If something is not working there are a million different alternatives, you just have to try again. Just because something works for one person it may not work for you. Just keep on going!

 Thank you very much Monique for taking the time to share your experience in your continued healthy hair journey. Your hair is positively flourishing!! Keep it up!

You might also like: Kinky Queen in the Spotlight and Kinky King in the Spotlight

One response to “Kinky Princess in the Spotlight!!

  1. Is that Monique!!! Don’t recognise second pic!! Hair looks good on camera…

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

