Diet & Nutrition

Ive been on a health kick lately to see if my internal nutrition reflects in my hairs health…..this is a nonsensical rhetorical question as obviously it does! Your hair and nails get the remnants of whatever nutrition is left after the more important organs get choice pickings, so If you don’t have enough of the necessary nutrition to start with, then your hair and nails are at a disadvantage….

I’m not sure why my hair shed/s as much as it does/was. I say was because since I’ve been doing the Black Tea Rinses and using the Black Tea infused JBCO and Coffee products, my shedding has drastically cut down. I don’t know whether my shedding is caused by a lack of a particular nutrient or 2.

My diet isn’t bad, I don’t live on junk food and as my partner is vegetarian, I cook and eat a lot of Salmon. I do eat meat but rarely cook it. So perhaps I’m lacking in Iron?? Who knows…….

Anyway, to ensure I’m getting all my vital nutrients, I’ve decided to make smoothies. Now, in the past I would always juice fruit and veg. I did the Jason Vale 2 wk cleanse where you basically have juices for 2 meals (breakfast/lunch) followed by steam fish and veg or couscous etc in the evening. You also had to cut out salt and sugar for those 2 wks. The juices contained everything you needed to supply your body with all your nutrients, and because it was raw and in juice form, your body was able to assimilate it a lot better. It had things like Avocado, avocado is known as a complete food, basically if you had nothing else to eat, you could live off of avocado for a while. Also contained Spinach, Pineapple, Apple, Carrot etc. Might not sound appealing but believe me it was very sweet tasting and delicious.

So how did I fare on this challenge?? My skin positively glowed and was so soft….I remember my palms and feet bottom being particular soft not that they were hard or calloused to begin with. All in all it was a very pleasant experience and I felt exceedingly healthy! I wore a weave at the time so have no idea whether the results were noticeable in my hair. I carried on the challenge for longer than two wks but slowly stopped over time as the juicing was very time consuming. I use to get up at 06:30am every morning to get it done and cleared away before I left for work.

Now that I’m freelance, I have more time on my hands so its the perfect time to incorporate juicing and smoothies into my diet. When I say diet, I mean my day to day consumption as I have never actually ‘dieted’ in my life in an attempt to lose weight.

Everyday, I’ve been having various smoothies like spinach, Kale, Banana, Pineapple, Avocado, Celery etc and adding the Superfoods like Organic Chlorella, Organic Spirulina, Organic Hemp Protein Powder etc. Just to give you an idea, Hemp has more protein than Beef! It contains 37% protein, 43% fiber, no net carbs. It also comes with the benefit of 9% beneficial fats (omega-3,-6, and -9 plus GLA), chlorophyll, vitamin E and iron. Not something to be sniffed at!

Chlorella and Spirulina are also in a league of their own when it comes to Minerals etc.

Chlorella is a nutrient-dense superfood that contains 60% protein, 18 amino acids (including all the essential amino acids), and various vitamins and minerals. More than 20 vitamins and minerals are found in chlorella, including iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium, phosphorous, pro-vitamin A, vitamins C, B1, B2, B2, B5, B6, B12, E and K, biotin, inositol, folic acid, plus vitamins C, E and K.

And Spirulina – about 60% of spirulina’s dry weight is protein, which is essential for growth and cell regeneration. It is a good replacement for fatty and cholesterol-rich meat and dairy products in one’s diet. Every 10 grams of spirulina can supply up to 70% of the minimum daily requirements for iron, and about three to four times of minimum daily requirements for vitamins A (in the form of beta carotene), B complex, D,and K.

That’s just the tip of the Iceberg with these Superfoods. Google them and have a ganders.

The best thing is that they are not synthetic man made vitamins which mean your body is readily able to assimilate and use the available nutrients. Our bodies cannot make use of most man made vitamins so unless your taking raw wholefood supplements, most of what your taking is ending up down the drain, quite literally…….

I think I have a few pics of my various smoothies:

20130313-102004.jpg
This one is: pineapple, mango, banana, mixed berries, hemp powder, Camu Camu powder, Milk Kefir, Coconut water (drained from coconut), squeezed orange juice and a bit of Raw honey! Very tasty!

20130313-102308.jpg
This Green Power Smoothy was Coconut water and blended coconut, pineapple, apple, pear, grapes, squeezed orange juice, celery, spinach, Plain yoghurt, hazlenut milk, cucumber, chlorella, Spirulina and hemp powder.

That’s just to give you an idea, you can use as much or as little as you like.
Smoothies are so filling they easily take the place of a meal.

Does anyone else have smoothies? What do you put in yours??

6 responses to “Diet & Nutrition

  1. I’m a smoothie newbie, I’ve been using my hand blender while I’m waiting for the proper machine arrive. I have seasonal organic fruit and veg delivered weekly so that kind of dictates what goes in my smoothies but I usually do some kind of combination of apples, bananas, kiwis, carrots, spinach, oranges, beetroot with ginger, mint, honey, lime or lemon, garlic and Manuka. Obviously I don’t mix all that together, I suffer with a lot of sore throats and colds so I blend with prevention in mind. Raw garlic isn’t the best tasting but with other ingredients it completely cures a sore throat, well it works for me anyway. I don’t make a smoothie with the raw garlic it’s more like a blender power shot.

    • Lucky you getting your organic seasonal fruit delivered!! Is it quite reasonable? Do you use any of the Suoerfood powders? They’re very good…. Make u feel alive!

      • I think it’s very reasonable, they also include non UK fruits and veg as it is winter and homegrown produce is slim pickings and you wouldn’t want the same thing every week, but even when they do get produce from abroad it’s still ethically sourced and shipped. I haven’t used any superfood powders yet but I plan to soon.

Leave a Reply

