3 Month hair pledge

Hey peeps

1st of all, i’d like to say thank you to all my new blog readers and subscribers. You know who you are ;0)

And of course a continued appreciation to my old loyal subscribers.

Back to the hair biz!!

In an effort to practice what I preach in terms of healthy hair habits, I endeavour to do the following over the next 3 months…..

PLEDGE (1) Pre poo with heated Castor oil, Coconut oil, Molasses and clove of garlic before each wash;

PLEDGE (2) Wash with Mineral Rich Clay Hair Masque every 1.5 wks;

PLEDGE (3) Follow with Solid Conditioner Bar;

PLEDGE (4) Finish off with an Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse infused with green tea and other hair loving herbs;

PLEDGE (5) Henna every 4-6wks

PRE POO COLLAGE

REASON

I Pre poo irregularly (try not to read that to fast, may look like something else entirely). When I Pre poo, I always chastise myself for not making it a regular occurrence in my regime! My curls always ‘pop’ like crazy after I’ve pre pooed with oils and I wonder why I don’t do it all the time, so this is my new pledge.

What are the benefits of a pre poo? Firstly what is a pre poo? Pre poo is a pre shampoo treatment you do before shampooing your hair. This helps cut down on damage to the cuticle caused by the manipulation that is inevitable with wash day. You can use oils or conditioner. Some people use Ayurvedic powders like Amla, Brahmi etc….. The idea is the pre poo will act as a buffer to the harsh/stripping effect of shampoo especially if you use one containing sulfates. I don’t do it for this reason as I don’t use harsh shampoos.

I love the way my hair feels after shampooing, post Pre poo, so much softer and moisturised. It is ideally carried out on dry hair. I tend to do it overnight. The main reason for this is because I don’t work a 9-5. As a freelancer I can be called out at any hour. As I don’t tend to go out at an ungodly hour (after midnight), its fairly safe to do my pre poo last thing at night. If I was to do it during the day, I’d run the risk of getting ‘called out’ mid pre poo…..

You can use any oils you desire. I use Jamaican Black Castor oil for its touted abilities to thicken hair and cleanse the scalp, and Coconut oil because it has the ability to penetrate the strand and add/replace lost protein. For that reason, if you only use one oil, I would suggest you use coconut oil.

What do you know about molasses for hair care? Blackstrap Molasses to be exact?

Molasses is a thick syrup generally from sugar cane from which most of the sucrose has been removed, leaving trace amounts of vitamins and significant amounts of minerals. The benefits of molasses is that it can darken your hair therefore combatting early greying (I’m not too bothered about that aspect as I luv my henna copper glow). This is attributed to the copper contained therein, that facilitates the production of melanin that assists in hair pigmentation. If taken internally for this purpose, 2 tsp is the recommended dose with results appearing in 3-6 months. If using topically say in a pre poo or deep conditioner, then 1-2 tbsp should be sufficient. Ensure you heat it slightly so as to make it more pliable and less draggy when applying.

Molasses is also said to help with dry and shedding hair. My hair likes to do the latter……That is why Garlic will be incorporated in my regime. Shedding is a normal process in the hair cycle, but anything more than 80+ shed hairs a day, may be excessive (not that I count mine but I think I shed more than most). Garlic is suppose to cut down/cease excessive shedding. If used directly on the scalp, garlic will tighten the pores and prevent the hair from shedding. So the correct way to use it for shedding is ON THE SCALP. Ideally blend it into a paste with your oils or conditioner, apply to your scalp, cover hair with plastic cap and marinade for at least 1 hour. In the past when I have used garlic, I have always used it on the length of my hair. This may be why I never had any real success with it, therefore this time, I will be using directly on the scalp and updating!!

acv collage

After I’ve pre pooed, I will then proceed to wash my hair with my Mineral Rich Clay Masque, the basis of which is Rhassoul clay, seaweed, aloe vera, oils etc.  This is my favourite way of cleansing my hair as it leaves it so soft and defined, without stripping moisture/oil from your strands. I’ve mentioned the benefits of incorporating clay in your hair regime in previous posts so I wont go into too much detail this time suffice to say as a hair treatment,  Rhassoul Clay cleanses the hair, removing impurities, and leaves hair bouncy and voluminous.

Clinical studies have shown that a single use of Moroccan Rhassoul:

  • Reduces dryness (79%)
  • Reduces flakiness (41%)

I tend to sleep with my clay masque on overnight to glean the full conditioning benefits.

Following that, I will use my conditioner bar. These are really cool, you literally swipe the bar 4-5 times along the length of your damp hair and this will deposit enough product on your hair to condition. It contains the same type of ingredients you get in a liquid conditioner minus the liquid. Pop on my heated therapy wrap for 20 mins then finish with an ACV rinse.

My ACV is infused with Green tea, Horsetail, Marshmallow root etc.

Green Tea  contains vitamin C, vitamin E and panthenol, which are all common ingredients in hair conditioner. Vitamin E restores dry or damaged hair, while vitamin C guards against damage from UV radiation. Panthenol, a provitamin, strengthens and softens hair and prevents split ends.

Read more here

Horsetail has a high silica content.  The silica content helps strengthen weak, brittle, damaged hair, giving it vitality and shine with regular use

Marshmallow is a medicated, conditioning, mucilaginous herb that provides an abundance of ‘slip’ which helps to nourish and detangle naturally curly hair.

Every 6 wks, I will use henna to strengthen my hair. Anyone that reads my blog will be familiar with my love of henna and here

I use to henna my hair monthly but I took a break as it was loosening my curl pattern too much. To some, this may be a welcome side effect to using henna but where my curls aren’t that tight to begin with, I really do not appreciate the loosening effect. If you are, then try mixing it with coconut milk before applying as coconut milk is rumoured to act like a natural straightener, especially if mixed with lime.

I always sleep with my henna mix in overnight, firstly as there’s less chance of me being called out to work and secondly, for the conditioning benefits and maximum colour retention.

THE AIM

By the end of the 3 month period, I hope to see less shedding.

For as long as I can remember, I always seem to have a lot of shed hair. When I bother to check the strands, I can see they contain the bulb so it is ‘shed’ hair and not ‘breakage’. I clearly have hair and manage to maintain the length with out any real effort. For instance, i’m not anal about protective styling. I often wear my hair out and rarely protect the ends. When I see the small amount of shed hair, my friend hyperventilates over losing, I Laugh! I keep telling her I will take a pic of my shed hair after a detangling session to show her. She’d more than likely have a heart attack!!

So that is my aim in incorporating these practices over the next 3 months, Operation less shedding!

If anyone wants to join me in this little challenge, hit me up!!

3 responses to “3 Month hair pledge

  1. Pingback: Bantu knot out Fail!! | fortheloveofkinks·

  2. Pingback: The Many Uses For ACV | Love A Natural Me·

  3. Pingback: Black tea for shedding | fortheloveofkinks·

Leave a Reply

