Mineral Makeup

 

OK…..so I’ve been using mineral foundation for perhaps 2 years now and as a whole am very happy with it, but I noticed the last batch I ordered caused my skin to itch whenever I used it so I mixed it into a homemade cream base to make it into liquid foundation and this worked quite well as my skin didn’t itch. Problem is, when the weather started warming up a few weeks back, I found with the cream base, my skin was too oily and I looked like a grease monkey….I kid you not. My skin is naturally oily so I ordinarily don’t use a moisturiser before applying makeup etc. Anyway, I decided to use the mineral powder on its own again. As soon as I put it on my skin, my skin started scratching and itching. A few days later I developed a rash on both cheeks, down to the jawline. Straight away, I knew the mineral makeup  or rather an ingredient/s was the culprit. I can tell whether my spots/rash are caused by something topical (being put on the skin) or internal (something you’ve eaten that doesn’t agree with you), and this was definitely topical. I had to go bare faced for 5 days to clear the rash.

I had read that Bismuth Oxychloride which is often found in mineral makeup, and certainly was an ingredient in mine, is widely known to be a skin irritant and the symptoms are: An itchy rash…..sounds familiar……

Boron Nitride can also be a cause of the itchy’s  which again is an ingredient in my mineral makeup. So what’s a girl to do?? Make her own minus the icky ingredients!!

So lets have a look at some of the ingredients found in mineral makeup and why choose mineral makeup as your foundation of choice.

Mineral makeup comprises of minerals, which are pulverized and sterilized into fine powder form. The makeup is made using zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, and 100%-micronized minerals, which are free from chemicals that cause inflammation and irritation to the skin.

What do the ingredients do?  Titanium Dioxide and/or Zinc Oxide. Both offers sun protection (SPF 15). Zinc oxide can calm irritated skin and helps with certain skin conditions such as rosacea.  You’ll get high coverage and adhesion either of these in your mineral makeup. Kaolin Clay:  This ingredient is also known as China clay.  This is a pure clay that offers medium coverage, high absorption, great adhesion, and a creamy texture.  It reduces shine on the skin as well. Iron Oxides:  They produce beautiful earthy colors and are great in foundations. Ultramarine Colors: Some ultramarine colors like blue and violet, are used to cool down foundations.

The great thing about mineral makeup is that It is 100 % non-comedogenic, non-acnegenic, chemically free, hypoallergenic and offers anti-inflammatory properties. It is also very light to wear and you don’t get that caked on feel, and because it is natural it does not hinder the skin’s pores, but rather allows the skin to breathe. The life of mineral makeup is longer than chemical-based makeup, because it needs no preservatives. That has to be a good thing…….

Yellow, Red & Brown Iron Oxide Pigments are the basis to making any shade of foundation, so these 3 colours are used to make foundation for fair skin right through to dark skinned ladies and perhaps guys…. They are just used in different quantity’s with the addition of your base ingredients like the titanium dioxide/zinc dioxide, clay/rice powder etc. I decided to use Zinc oxide instead of Titanium dioxide along with Kaolin Clay, Arrowroot powder and of course yellow, red & brown pigments. I used my now redundant mineral foundation as a guide to the colour I wanted to achieve (Toffee) and tweaked and tweaked until it looked the same but just a tad bit lighter. The one on the left is the shop bought one that gave me the itchy’s and the one on the right is the one I made.

 

I’ve been using it for 1 week now and no itchy scratchy skin and the coverage is perfect. I’m going to make some blusher and eye shadows too as I don’t want to use the ones I have containing the icky ingredients in case they give me another rash!!

So does anyone else use mineral makeup? and if so, which brand?

Many ladies have no problems with Bismuth Oxychloride at all. How your skin reacts to them really depend on your skin condition and the product formulation. Give it a try and see if you like…..

3 responses to “Mineral Makeup

  1. Pingback: Mineral Makeup Update « fortheloveofkinks·

  2. Pingback: Makeup Free of Corn… How did I not find this sooner? « The Corn Snitch·

Leave a Reply

