Neem & Nettle Herbal Face Bar

My Brother has seborrheic dermatitis that also presents on his face as well as his scalp. I use to have it quite badly on my scalp. At the time, I went to see a dermatologist at the hospital and he suggested that I stop relaxing my hair….Sacrebleu!! I exclaimed! In my head anyway. There was no way I was going to stop relaxing my hair, as back then I wasn’t aware of any other way to wear my hair other than relaxed.  I tried Nizoral Shampoo which would clear it for a time but leave my hair straw like and it didn’t smell too great either….. I only finally got rid of it when I stopped relaxing my hair, stopped wearing weaves and started using predominantly natural products.

I think it is hereditary on my dads side as all of us have it to varying degrees. I’m the only one that has managed to keep it at bay for any real length of time, but my brother has had some success using my handmade soap. A few years back, I made him a shampoo bar which contained Nettle Leaf, Sage & Rosemary:

Because of the natural ingredients contained therein, he also used it on his face. What he didn’t tell me at the time was that using this soap kept his dermatitis under control. It was only when I was at his house last week when his skin was looking a tad scaly that he mentioned the above. So I decided to make an improved version that should be even more effective and if the ingredients do what they say on the can, then should also help acne and eczema.

I firstly made an olive oil infusion of Neem leaf, Lavender buds, Nettle leaf & Calendula petal.

Benefits of Neem: “Neem leaf and its constituents have been demonstrated to exhibit immunomodulatory, anti-inflammatory, antihyperglycaemic, antiulcer, antimalarial, antifungal, antibacterial, antiviral, antioxidant, antimutagenic and anticarcinogenic properties.”

Read more here

Benefits of Lavender:  By massaging lavender oil into the skin, it can be used to treat a number of skin problems such as acne, burns, dry skin, eczema, itchy skin, sunburn, seborrhea, and skin inflammation.

Read more here

Benefits of Nettle: Analgesic, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergenic, anti-anaphylactic,anti-rheumatic, anti-asthmatic, anti-convulsant, anti-dandruff, anti-histamine, astringent, decongestant, depurative, diuretic, haemostatic, hypoglycaemic, hypotensive, galactagogue, immunomodulator, prostate tonic, stimulating tonic

Read more here

Benefits of Calendula: Used topically in Europe to combat dry skin, diaper rash and cradle cap, or infant seborrheic dermatitis, calendula has anti-inflammatory and antiseptic properties that appear to help relieve seborrheic dermatitis. Calendula creams may help hydrate dry skin and ease pain and inflammation associated with dermatitis. According to Steven Foster, author of the book “National Geographic Desk Reference to Nature’s Medicine,” calendula contains antibacterial compounds that reputedly have demonstrated results in treating lesions. Foster also reports that clinical studies conducted with breast cancer patients indicate that calendula helps prevent dermatitis for women undergoing radiation treatment.

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/474671-calendula-skin-disease-seborrheic-dermatitis/#ixzz1xUmUW86E

Secondly I made a strong infusion of Neem leaf and Nettle Leaf into the water content needed to make the soap.

Lastly after the soap had reached trace and before curing, I added Neem Powder along with an ayurvedic mix which contained amongst other things Lodha powderLodhar Powder is a powerful healer of skin diseases and is a mild astringent), Manjishta powder (The paste, when applied on the face, helps remove freckles, pimples, wrinkles, blemishes and discolourations of the skin) and Amla powder (prevents scalp infection and when used on skin, the paste of this powder brightens the complexion and removes pimples and grime). For an extra soothing creamy bar, I added Oatmeal (Oatmeal contains polysaccharides, a type of complex carbohydrate. When polysaccharides mix with water, a gel forms. This gel softens and nourishes the skin. It also protects skin from drying out even after you’ve washed the oatmeal away).

And what we are left with are the above bars. The bar on the left is adorned with Lavender buds and the bar on the right has an extra topping of Oatmeal. Looks like an oatmeal flapjack……

I can’t wait to put them to the test but I’ll have to wait 4 wks for them to cure. Also looking forward to see if it helps my brother Seborrheic dermatitis once again!!

As an extra treat, I made him a Neem based Clay cleanser. If that doesn’t clear it, nothing will!!

5 responses to “Neem & Nettle Herbal Face Bar

  1. Pingback: How to Treat Seborrheic Dermatitis·

  2. Pingback: Cold Process Soap « fortheloveofkinks·

  3. Pingback: Triple Neem Herbal Face Bar Update « fortheloveofkinks·

Leave a Reply

