Deodorant or Antiperspirant…which do you use??

I was using a so called natural deodorant from Holland & Barrett but noticed that a few weeks later, I had swelling under my armpits. I switched to another natural deodorant and although initially the swelling subsided, it came back. Clearly I must be allergic to something in the deodorants!!…..

The other day my armpits were itching so I decided to put some castor oil on them due to it’s thick gloopy nature, I figured it would be soothing. I then went about my day and it was only that evening that I noticed, not only had the itching subsided but also It acted as though I had applied deodorant. I thought this was strange so tried it the next day, then the next, and the next………The result was the same each time, no noticeable sweat nor odour. I’m not a smelly lass anyway but not even a linger….. The most important thing I noticed was the swelling on my lymph nodes* 95% gone!!

This made me curious as to why that might be. I know all the wonderful attributes that castor offers but deodorant?? really?? So I decided to look it up and here is what I found: Research has shown that castor oil has a profound influence upon the lymphatic system and the autonomic nervous system. As castor oil is absorbed through the skin, it moves through the lymphatic channels, stimulating the natural healing ability of the body to breakup any congestion present.

This would explain why my swelling has all but subsided in my armpits. The ricinoleic acid and other healing components of castor oil aid in breaking up any congestion present: When castor oil is absorbed through the skin, several extraordinary events take place. The lymphocyte count of the blood increases. This is a result of a positive influence on the thymus gland and/or lymphatic tissueThe flow of lymph increases throughout the body. This speeds up the removal of toxins surrounding the cells and reduces the size of swollen lymph nodes.

That explains why it helped with my swelling but what makes it effective as a deodorant? Ricinoleic acid has been shown to be effective in preventing the growth of numerous species of bacteria.  Ricinoleic acid doesn’t appear to be found in any other substance except castor oil. Such a high concentration (almost 90 percent of its fatty acid content consists of ricinoleic acid) of this unusual, unsaturated fatty acid is thought to be responsible for castor oil’s remarkable healing abilities.

So what do you use? deodorant or antiperspirant? and which is best?? That question may be more important than you realise. Lets look at why…..

What is the role of deodorant? Basically, deodorant kills bacteria that make sweat smelly. Initially, sweat does not smell, but once it comes into contact with air/bacteria  is when an odor will form. So deodorant kills the odor, not the perspiration.

What about antiperspirants? Antiperspirants, on the other hand, inhibit the activity of sweat glands so less moisture is produced. In addition, these products also decrease odor because there is less sweat for the bacteria to act upon. While deodorants are considered to be cosmetic products because they only control odor, antiperspirants are actually drugs because they affect the physiology of the body.

So which is best? Understandably, antiperspirants are extremely popular because most people want to keep their armpits dry as well as prevent body odor. However, because sweating is a critical part of the detoxification system, using antiperspirants impair the body’s ability to carry out this vital function.  As such, it would be wise to not interfere with their natural function don’t you think?

As seems to be the general consensus nowadays for personal products,  most deodorants/antiperspirants contain a number of potentially toxic ingredients. The two types of substances that are commonly found in deodorant and have caused the most concern are aluminum and parabens. Aluminum is the key ingredient in many antiperspirants as it reduces perspiration, and **parabens are used in many deodorants and the majority of personal care products to prevent the growth of bacteria and fungus.

So what’s bad about them? Aluminum and parabens are both believed to be a potential risk for breast cancer and elevated estrogen levels, and it’s been generally accepted that aluminum increases the risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease. As expected, there’s been a lot of debate over these issues, especially the risk of breast cancer. Regardless of how big or small the risk may be, the one thing we can be sure of is that nature didn’t intend for us to be exposed to these chemicals, especially not on a daily basis.

With my success of using Jamaican Black Castor Oil (JBCO) as a deodorant, I thought i’d take it to the lab (kitchen) to make a solid deodorant. I used Organic Black Cocoa Butter for the chocolate smell, Coconut Oil which offers antimicrobial, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial, soothing, all things you’d want in a deodorant, obviously the star of the show JBCO, Vit E, beeswax to keep it as a solid and Lime and Orange Essential Oil for scent. Smells like Jaffa cake which I luv!!

I haven’t used it yet but I will update once I have tested for at least a week.

**UPDATE** I know I said I would update after using my handmade deodorant for 1 wk but it has been working so well 3 days in that I thought i’d be premature with my update!! This has been working so well i’m seriously impressed!! It was quite warm yesterday, aside from the rain and I was running up and down representing crooks clients at the Police Station and then rushing around doing shopping and by the end of the day….no hint of an odour!! As I said previously, I am not a smelly lass/sweaty betty but still!! I decided to get a ‘MAN’ to test it and so far so good. If it continues, it just may make the grade and find its way into my Bath & Body Range!!

* If you’ve ever studied  biology, you may recall that amongst other places, lymph nodes are located in our armpits.   Lymph nodes are responsible for filtering waste i.e toxins, excess fluid, dead cells etc from the lymphatic fluid. Most swollen lymph nodes will return to their normal size without treatment once the trigger (allergen) is no longer present. Deodorant/antiperspirants can upset the delicate balance.

**Parabens are preservatives that come in many forms methyl, ethyl, propyl, benzyl, and butyl (add paraben to the end of each word). Parabens are found everywhere…don’t believe me? have a look at your everyday products, cream/lotion/shampoo/conditioner/shower gel and see how many ingredients end with the word ‘paraben’.

Other uses for castor oil: Castor oil packs have been used successfully for abscess, constipation, appendicitis, whiplash, muscle sprains, low back pain, abrasions and lacerations, infected puncture wounds and fibroid tumors. It is extremely successful when used for arthritic conditions, carpal tunnel syndrome, local infections, and post surgical care.

To prepare a castor oil pack, use a piece of unbleached wool or cotton flannel about 18 inches square. Saturate the cloth with warm castor oil, fold it to fit the area and apply. Cover the area with plastic wrap, then place a heating pad or hot water bottle on top (if using a hot water bottle, you’ll need to change to water to keep it hot enough.) Generally, the packs are left on for about an hour.

Read more here  and here (make sure you read through the testimonials) detailing the uses of castor as a poultice etc and here and here for benefits to hair.

7 responses to “Deodorant or Antiperspirant…which do you use??

  1. Pingback: Deodorant Update « fortheloveofkinks·

  2. Hello Kinky,
    I live in the States and am hoping you will graciously share the amount of each ingredient listed below that you use for your homemade deodorant:

    Organic Black Cocoa Butter
    Coconut Oil
    JBCO
    Vitamin E
    Beeswax
    Lime and Orange Essential Oil

    I found out about using coconut oil as deodorant yesterday while walking with a friend. I tried it and it seems to be working well today. The recipe I made uses equal parts of coconut oil, baking soda, and arrow root (I also added Ylang Ylang oil), but I am intrigued by your recipe and would love to try it.

    Thank you!

    • Hi Mary Beth and welcome to the blog!!

      I will locate the recipe and mail it to you.
      It’s past the test in the few sunny days
      We’ve had in the UK recently. I may slightly
      Tweak it next time and add a titch of bicarbonate
      And Arrowroot.

  3. the products in your “bath and body products” category are to die for. they almost look edible! i’d be especially honored in a more detailed description on how you made the deodorant like do you just mix all the ingredients together or is there heat involved? and also how much you used of each ingredient…i use arm and hammer and it smells wonderful, however, it tends to not last too long…

  4. Hi kinky.
    Very intrigued by your recipe. The end result looks wonderful!
    I am also using diy natural deodorant but I find that I still sweat a whole lot. But I also live in south america were it is certainly hot. I like to try your recipe and see how it works and do you have any suggestions on what I could add to. Lessen the sweating? Can you please also email me your recipe??
    Many thanks an God bless you in everything your doing!!!

    • Hi Gracita

      I will be selling this deodorant in my bath & body range so cannot provide you with the recipe unfortunately. Some people add clay and bicarbonate soda to help with the sweating but I don’t add these. I just use butters and essential oils. Use oils that are antibacterial.

Leave a Reply

