Kinky King In The Spotlight

This months Kinky is a ‘KING’

WELCOME!! THE FIRST QUESTION I’D LIKE TO ASK YOU IS HOW LONG HAS IT TAKEN YOU TO GROW YOUR LOCS TO THAT LENGTH?? 

About 13 years.

THAT’S A LOT OF GROWTH!! WHAT LENGTH WERE THEY WHEN YOU STARTED?

I started with about 1 inch of hair.

HOW DID YOU START THEM OFF, DID YOU GO TO A SALON?

I started with small twists and every time I washed my hair, I had to re twist  them. I didn’t do it the conventional way like suggested, such as not to wash your hair when you are trying to loc or to use wax. I have always washed my hair on a weekly basis and I’ve never used wax. This may have contributed to my hair taking over a year to loc. Plus I have quite fine hair and it’s not a coarse texture so it doesn’t readily loc….

WHY DID YOU DECIDE TO GROW LOCS? 

Growing up in Jamaica, it seemed like all the nice, kind people, were Rastas. They were always helpful and cool people to be around. For me, having locs isn’t a fashion statement, it’s a lifestyle.

HOW DO YOU MAINTAIN YOUR HEALTHY LOOKING LOCS?

I wash my locs every week and re twist them. As you can imagine, this takes most of the day as my locs are very long.

WHAT DO YOU USE IN THE MAINTENANCE OF YOUR HEALTHY LOCS?

I use a sulfate free shampoo so as not to dry out my locs, followed by a natural conditioner. To keep my locs soft and hydrated, I use either a Hydrating Mist or Moisturising Hair Milk. I also use Virgin Coconut Oil.

WHAT HAS BEEN PEOPLES PERCEPTION OF YOU AND HAVE YOU RECEIVED ANY NEGATIVE ATTITUDES BECAUSE OF YOUR HAIR?

Funnily enough, my mum had the preconceived idea that rastas had dirty hair meaning they didn’t wash it. Once she saw how I regularly washed and re twisted mine, she was forced to take back her words… Also, people automatically assume that I smoke weed. I have never smoked weed in my life!!

IS IT A PREREQUISITE THAT YOUR PARTNER HAS NATURAL HAIR?

Everybody has to live their own life, it’s up to them. It would be nice for them to be natural but you can’t tell people what to do with their own hair.

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO SOMEONE THINKING ABOUT STARTING LOCS?

It’s not easy, it’s very hard to maintain and takes a lot of dedication. If your planning to wear locs as a fashion statement, you will find the upkeep is very time consuming and the novelty may soon wear off,  unless you get them maintained at a salon. Unless you plan to have free forming locs that is……

Thank you being this months Kinky in the spotlight. If you missed our previous Kinky Queen in the spotlight, catch up HERE

If anyone has any questions for our Kinky King regarding locs, don’t hesitate to leave a comment in the box below.


5 responses to “Kinky King In The Spotlight

  1. Pingback: Happy Loc Appreciation Day Everyone!!! | Timotheus "Pharaoh" Gordon·

  2. Pingback: Kinky Princess in the Spotlight!! | fortheloveofkinks·

Leave a Reply

