My hair doesn’t have a ‘CURL’!!…

My friend came over the other day as she wanted me to try and get some ‘curls’ from her hair as she lamented that her hair will not hold a curl. I explained to her that it is more than likely the products she is using or rather NOT usingShe ordinarily wears weaves/plaits and very rarely her own hair in it’s natural state so straight away I knew her hair would be dry. Because kinky hair is dry by nature,  it needs added moisture, daily. Hair usually worn in weaves isn’t always regularly moisturised. I know when I wore weaves, I wasn’t consistent with adding moisture to my hair beneath the weave.

Dry hair breaks because it is dry, lacks moisture, whereas well moisturized hair is supple and has elasticity leading to less breakage.

If I had to ‘type’ her hair, I would say it is a mixture of 4a/b. 4a hair has a clearly visible curl and wave pattern that ranges from pen size curls to pen spring size coils. Type 4b hair has a tighter wave pattern and kinks of various size, less of a defined curl pattern, tends to be densely packed giving the appearance of very thick hair although the actual strands may be fine/thin/wiry or coarse in texture. Type 4 hair can shrink up to 75% of the actual hair length. See an example of 4a/b hair below:

     

So, this is my friends hair:

She did a twist out on hair that had been previously blow dried.

As I suspected, her hair lacked moisture and was very dry. The first thing I did was use my Hydrating Mist to get some moisture into her strands. I then added my creamy leave in followed by my flaxseed gel mixture and sealed with my butter mix. I then twisted in little sections:

Untwisted 15 minutes later just to check we were on the right track:

Checked again when 99% dry and voila! CURLS!!

Look at the difference the right products make:

 

I sent her on her merry way with some products to implement on her HHJ (healthy hair journey).

I did the same with my sisters hair. She’s always saying she cant get a defined look to her hair (I luv a challenge!!). I think she’s 3c/4a/b. I told her that she just wasn’t utilising the right products. I shampooed her hair with my sulfate free shampoo, conditioned with a heated cap and then used exactly the same products I used on my friends hair above.

This is what we started with:                     And this is the end result:

 

The key to keeping our natural locks healthy and beautiful is to moisturise, moisturise, moisturise. I personally do not ‘spritz’ my hair with water etc everyday because my hair has now got to the stage where it effectively holds moisture for days on end (took a while to get there i’ll tell ya!!). This is a 3 day old twist out with no added product other than what was put on it 3 days previously:

So to get moisture into our hair, we need to start with a creamy sulfate free moisturizing cleanser, followed by a moisturising/hydrating conditioner. Our styling products should have ‘water’ listed as the 1st ingredient and also humectants like glycerin which will attract moisture to our locks. Use a water based creamy leave in, a hydrating mist as and when needed and follow with natural oils and rich butters to seal in that moisture. Avoid things like mineral oil, petrolatum, silicones, things that are good at preventing things/moisture penetrating your strands (I use a silicone mix on my hair prior to straightening it to repel humidity).

I’d luv to know what your hair regime is and what works for you…..feel free to comment below.

Leave a Reply

