The ORIGINAL Jamaican BLACK CASTOR OIL

My Partner went to Jamaica and the one thing I requested he bring me back (aside from Rum)…..was Jamaican Black Castor Oil. Now this request wasn’t for a bottled version bought in the shops or markets of Jamaica, no this was for ‘pick the beans/seeds and get your aunt to make it’ type of request, and so he did.

I’d like to introduce the original Jamaican black castor oil picked by his own fair hands:

Extraction of oil from castor seeds is done in a manner similar to that for most other oil seeds. The ripe seeds are then allowed to dry, then they split open and discharge the seeds. These seeds are cleaned, cooked and dried prior to extraction (that part was done by his aunt)  See image below of extraction of seed.

So why did I request this specific oil? Well, Jamaican castor oil started centuries ago when the castor beans were brought to Jamaica via the African trade. It was then when the natives discovered the wonderful effects that castor oil had on the body, especially to the hair. In this post I’m concentrating on the benefits to the hair. It not only benefits the scalp directly, helping with dryness, cellular malnutrition, microbe attack, and more, it also boosts the hair directly, making it softer and more moisturized.  Though regular castor oil will work well for this too,  the nutrient combination of Jamaican black castor oil makes it especially beneficial to the hair.

So what’s the difference between regular castor oil and Jamaican black castor oil? The main difference between black castor oil and regular or refined castor oil is the way the oil was processed. Black castor oil is produced the “old fashioned way” (unrefined). The organic seeds are roasted and ground in a manual fashion and are boiled to extract the 100% pure and dark oil. The longer the beans are roasted, the more ash content is produced. Castor oil with a high ash content is said to be the most effective since ash content increase the potency of the oil. This can also be recognized by the color. The more ash content there is, the darker the oil becomes (notice how dark my oil is in the picture).

Why is it beneficial to hair? Jamaican black castor oil is rich in Omega-9 fatty acids. The germicidal, insecticidal and fungicidal properties of ricin/ricinoleic acid in castor oil protect the scalp and hair from microbial and fungal infections, the 2 prime causes of hair loss. Castor oil is known to cleanse the scalp of impurities that would inhibit growth. This is one of the reasons castor oil is used as a hair growth treatment remedy. If you look up Jamaican black castor oil on You tube, you will see  numerous testimonials from people who have used it to grow there edges (thinning sides) etc. It definitely does thicken the hair.

It is a very thick oil and if it is unrefined, it will have a strong smell. Bare this in mind when using it, you may want to use it as a pre poo (pre shampoo treatment). Many people mix it with coconut oil to thin it out before applying it to their scalp and massaging it in. Others add a couple of teaspoons to there conditioners for a deep conditioner. That is normally how I use it. I also mix it with hemp oil and coconut oil and use it as my scalp oil. Additionally I use it it my cold process soaps I make. I added it to my Rhassoul soap which I use on my face as it is so moisturising. I’m going to try adding it to my shampoo I make, to make it even more moisturising!!

So, if you have edges/hairline like Naomi Campbell pictured, you may want to give it a try. After all, what have you got to lose?

10 responses to “The ORIGINAL Jamaican BLACK CASTOR OIL

  1. I’ve actually got some Jamaican black castor oil from my last trip I usually use it in my hot oil treatments but may start using it in my deep conditioners too…

  2. Pingback: Jamaican Black Castor Oil Anyone?? « fortheloveofkinks·

  3. Pingback: Deodorant or Antiperspirant…which do you use?? « fortheloveofkinks·

  4. Pingback: More Jamaican Black Castor Oil « fortheloveofkinks·

  5. Pingback: JAMAICAN BLACK CASTOR OIL UPDATE!! « fortheloveofkinks·

  6. Hi Kinks,

    Your logo is great! Business focused, while also Simplified and Effective to attract a client base, as well as a corporate stronghold.

    All the best!

    Ivor

Leave a Reply

