Bath & Body Products

As much as I luv all things hair, I also luv all things natural for my body. It was when I came to realise that what you put on your body, enters into your body etc, that I got into making my own Natural bath & body products. Most people will know about the perils of SLS (sodium lauryl sulfate)  in hair care products basically stripping the hair due to their harshness. I say ‘their’ because sulfate based products are usually accompanied by other sulfates like Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate (AMS,) and  Sodium Lauryl Ether Sulfates (SLEs) in a product. This led me to make my own Cold Process Soap Shampoo Bar. This enables me to put all the good things I want into my shampoo whilst keeping all the stuff I don’t want, out!! My shampoo bar generally consists of Rosemary, Sage, Nettle leaf, Horsetail, Coconut Oil, Castor Oil to name a few. See an example of my  Shampoo bar below:
 
 
 
This expanded into other body products like Whipped Hair & Body Butters:
 
 
 
                                                                      
 
 
And Bath Bombs
 
 
 
 
And Body Soaps
 
     
 
I am currently curing a batch of Rhassoul Clay Spa Bars. I call them Spa Bars because using them is like a Spa experience…… I’ve only recently started using rhassoul clay  in my hair, I basically incorporated it into a conditioner I made using BTMS (Behentrimonium Methosulfate).  This is Not to be confused with the Sulfates I mentioned earlier, rather it is a conditioning emulsifyer, that binds water and oils together but I will get into that in another post. My 1st experience using it in my hair was a very positive one, it left my hair feeling ultra soft and easily detangled. I can’t wait to use it again!
 
I’ve worked out that the only thing I use on my hair & body that I don’t make myself is Shampoo. I may 1 day look into making this but I haven’t decided yet……Don’t hesitate to comment if you have any additional questions I haven’t answered. Until then fellow Kinksters, stay Kinky.
 
                                  ____________________________________________________________
 
This weekend  (26th Feb 2012) I’ve been very busy so I’ve updated this album with some more pics.
 
Here are some other goodies I made. My brother wanted a shaving lotion and   a whipped butter he could use on his head (he has no hair) and his face. I also did him a lip balm and a solid body melt, oh and I made myself some conditioners:
 
 
My Rhassoul Clay Spa Bar finally cured and off to it’s new owner!!
 
2 responses to “Bath & Body Products

  1. Whoa! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a completely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

Leave a Reply

