My hair hates aloe vera juice but digs aloe vera gel…hmmm

You may recall me mentioning in a previous post that when I used Aloe Vera Juice in my hair, it left my hair crispy and dry. So it was with much trepidation that I tried the gel in my hair. I used it neat on one strand, waited for it to dry and lo and behold the strand wasn’t rendered straw like……hmmm…. could it be that I may be able to use aloe after all and benefit from all that goodness that most naturalista’s spew about??

Next test….I decided to whip it into my shea butter mix, shealoe style and would you adam and eve it, soft moisturised curls?? Normally when I use flax gel, my hair is a little bit hard but when I used the shealoe mix, soft soft soft!!

Now I’m on a roll so I decide to make a Hair Jelly with Aloe Vera Gel as the base, Panthenol,  Protein yada yada yada……..Lovely results as you can see above!!

So now I’m in the Aloe Vera brigade, I can write about the benefits of Aloe. So what are they?

Firstly, Aloe contains over 20 minerals and vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, B12, C and E, has antibacterial properties that can combat and eliminates the problem of excess sebum. This helps in keeping the scalp healthy so that hair follicles can grow naturally;

Aloe vera  helps maintain the moisture in your hair, leaving it less brittle and, according to Northwestern Health Sciences University, it is a growth stimulant for hair and is a natural treatment for dandruff;

Psoriasis, a common skin disease caused by the rapid buildup of skin cells that form itchy, dry, red patches, can appear on your scalp and can be successfully treated with aloe vera gels. According to the Mayo Clinic, aloe can reduce the redness, scaling, itching and inflammation of scalp psoriasis and provide a benefit to your hair as well. In a study reported in Archives of Dermatology, more than 80 percent of the psoriasis patients treated with aloe vera showed improvement, compared to just 6 percent of those who did not receive aloe vera;

It also balances the pH level of hair, and apparently drinking it can help with weight loss and removes poisons in the body.

There’s much more to this wonder plant so if you want to read more, have a look at the related article below.

Does anyone else use Aloe? and how? 

11 responses to “My hair hates aloe vera juice but digs aloe vera gel…hmmm

  1. Ummm, ‘Kinky & Proud.’ And so you should be.. lol!

    Amazing, how beautiful your ‘natural’ looks compliments you.

    As you can see Ivor has calmed down from his usual robust and deep expressions. And, instead, has adopting a more calming and therapeutic manner in which to make his point.. lol!

    You take care, and look after your ‘natural’ self!

    Is that an engagement ring i see on your finger…. ummm!!

  2. Hi ‘kinky & proud’, shall I continue calling you that? Sounds too naughty for our discussion/debate…lol! Anyway…

    With regards to me being passionate about this subject matter, do you feel that their should be more done to promote ‘natural’ hair on black women?

    Let me know. I’ll start a campaign immediately.. lol!

    Take care

    Ivor

    • Kinks will do…lol

      The natural hair ‘movement’ in the UK is a lot bigger than you may realise, of course there is always room for improvement. Garret Augustus Morgan, Sr. has a lot to answer to……. lol

      • Hi Kinks,

        I hope you are enjoying your long break – in all natural goodness too… lol!

        The question is ‘what more can be done to understand the reasons why black women are influenced into buying European hair.’

        Yes, the influence is so strong, it seems, to stay Un-natural!!

        What is sad, is that I see black Mothers encouraging their young daughters to wear extensions and wigs. What a shame!!

        Because their still exists an insufficient balance to black programming on TV, this important subject matter will remain less public as a result.

        As a black man who will always remain protective of black women who ‘keep it natural’, I would love to see a TV audience based on this subject, and will be interested in the responses by black women.

        Though, I also feel that Black Men have a fundamental role to play in all of this.

        Stay ‘natural’ kinks.. lol!

        Take care now.

  3. Pingback: Summer’s Natural/Alternative Medicine Chest | Hands-of-Faith Holistic Healing Centers® Blog·

  4. Im gonna pick up some Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera Gel tomorrow & use it. Totally didnt think of Aloe Vera before & should have. We had a plant when I was a child & it worked for just about everything! God’s creations always better than man’s!

Leave a Reply

